A blog post in which I return

Okay, so I may have not written a blog post in months. Oops…

Opera, a trip to Europe, schoolish things, and life in general got in the way.

Enough with excuses.

Besides working and attending weddings and learning music and beach trips and lake trips and enjoying the warmth and loveliness of summer, here’s what readerly/writerly things this summer includes for me:

~ Reading some new books. I recently finished a YA novel entitled Dreamland by Sarah Desson. It’s a quick read, and a surprisingly honest look (without being too graphic) about a girl stuck in a terrible, abusive relationship. I am about to start several other novels: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, The queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. They’ve all been included on best YA lists, and I am super excited to read them. Let me know in the comment section if you want some book reviews!

~ I’m not working on any short stories or poems currently, but I am working on my fantasy trilogy. I’ve been forcing myself to just write a little each day. Manageable goals.

I feel like summer often promises to hold adventures and opportunities, and yet also gives us those tiny moments in which we can simply breathe and write and remember how crazy-beautiful life is. Here’s to summer. Let’s make it a fully-lived one, Beautiful People, in the deepest, most meaningful ways.

Share your thoughts

