Tips for Querying A Literary Agent

Hello, my Beautiful People. It’s been a long time since I’ve written. I’m going to change some things and keep some things the same.

Before I slide into today’s topic, I have to write a few reflective things, because I haven’t talked to you all in so very long.

Fall is finally sweeping in with it all its rich glory. This time of year just makes me so reflective, and I feel this deep inner peace and joy as I view the brilliant blue skies, cool mornings, and an abundance of plushy sweaters and boots. Some might feel like fall is an end, as leaves shrivel into reds and yellows and the world grows a little quieter. It is, in a way. But it’s such a beginning, reminding us that so much, so much is ahead.

I have to include one of the most exciting things happening to me this semester: I get to wear a wig (with a peacock included) in the fall opera.

SO MUCH YES.

And guess what else, Lovelies? I’m working on the final book of my trilogy. It’s a thrilling place to be. Terrifying, but thrilling.

Since I know there are so many aspiring authors out there in the internet world, I thought I would share a few tips from things I am learning on my own writing journey. These tips pertain specifically to querying agents via email.

~ Be professional ~ I’m sure this could go without saying. However, I have read so many blog posts, articles, and tweets by agents who talk about the unprofessionalism they find in many of the emails they receive. When I queried an agent recently, I looked up information about her on her professional Twitter account, LinkedIn, and even read some articles that she had written. Those are perfectly acceptable things to do, especially if this person is someone I could potentially work with. However, it would be inappropriate for me, in my query email, to regurgitate any likes or dislikes of the agent that  I may have learned. Know how to write a query email. I looked up sample query emails online before I even attempted writing mine. Make sure that you triple check your email for grammatical errors. If you want agents to give your book a serious glance at least, then your email should be, in a  way, a reflection of your work and you as a person. Don’t let a poorly constructed email turn agents away from a fantastic story.

~ Be patient ~ THIS IS SO HARD. My patience level is quite low at times. Most agencies usually state on their website (or perhaps through an email) when they will most likely get back to you. A typical timeline is several months. Pestering agents with a flood of emails is not the way to be taken seriously. Here is an excellent article about this topic…  http://heydeadguy.typepad.com/heydeadguy/2015/10/guest-post-when-and-whether-to-nudge-an-agent-by-danielle-burby.html

~ Be proactive ~ Never wait around and expect to meet the perfect agent at a party or something. Research. Once you know the genre of your work, research agents who are looking for stories in that particular genre. Don’t simply query the first agent you come across. Try to find out more about the agency the agent works with and who that he or she is as a person. Make a list of possible agents. Figure out pros and cons. You have to do the work. But it will be worth it. Keep pursuing. Don’t give up.

Anything worth having in life is worth a pursuit, is worth the difficulties, is WORTH IT. Stay strong, Darlings. Keep writing. Keep writing. Keep LIVING.

Share your thoughts

